I am SunDragoon

I want to share with you!!!

Popular Variety Shows Nowadays..

It’s already late in my country, yet I still can’t sleep and I decided to write something. So, I just want to share my thoughts about Variety Show nowadays. Perhaps most of you know Running Man since it’s the most popular variety show now and you also like it, right? That’s the charm of Korean variety show.

Running man is not the only funny and interesting variety show. There are a lot other which are as funny as Running man, or even better. As you may have already known, there are 3 big broadcasting system in Korea. They are SBS, KBS, and MBC. While SBS has Running man as its variety show, KBS and MBC also have their own, too. KBS has 1 Night 2 Days, while MBC has Infinity Challenge. But, it’s true that Running man is the most popular outside Korea. Also, every variety show has its own style and charm which is unique to it. Well, let’s see some of them, then.

Running man has a special concept where you have to compete in order to win something or win the game. I think that’s some of the charm. But, you can’t deny that the one that makes this show interesting is Yoo Jaesuk. It wouldn’t be as popular as now if Yoo Jaesuk isn’t the MC, don’t you think? Also, the characteristics of each member plus the funny games they play can also be considered its charm. Personally, I like how there are usually guests every week. It kinda attract me to watch the next episode every time I see next week’s guest. Expecially when the guest is pretty. ^o^

KBS 1 Night 2 Days (1N2D) is a show where the members go to different places in Korea to see and introduce those beautiful places to the viewers. While that is the main reason of the show, it has its own addictive charm which is Bokbulbok. It literally translates to blessing-curse-blessing (according to wikipedia). It actually refers to any kind of game that the members play to decide upon something, like who gets to eat, who gets to sleep outside, etc. If you watch it, you’ll really get addicted to it and find it really amusing. The MC is Kang Hodong, another great MC who is as good as Yoo Jaesuk and also very funny. You’ll also like him when you watch this. Overall, it’s one of the best show you can watch if you need some laughs.

The last is MBC Infinity Challenge. I actually don’t watch it regularly, not because I don’t want to, but because I don’t have the time. But, I’ve watched some of it and I think it’s kinda like 1N2D where you go to experience a lot of things, playing games, etc except they don’t sleep in at night. Well, CMIIW. The show is also hosted by Yoo Jaesuk, so you should know it must also be funny. Please comment if you have something to add/correct. ^^

Anyway, those are the three most famous variety show according to each broadcasting station. There are a lot other show which are also good to watch like Invincible Youth, Heroes, etc. But, I guess it would be too long and boring if I write all of them here. So, maybe next time. Also, I’m really a fan of bokbulbok and I really want to list all those bokbulbok in the 1N2D show. So, maybe I’ll also write about that next time. Anyway, I hope it was fun reading this one, and if you really want to watch another show beside Running man, I’d suggest those two above (1N2D and Infinity Challenge). See ya.

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Popular Variety Shows Nowadays..

  1. i think running man is the best for people outside korea….1n2d n ic also a great shows too but for non koreans, its a bit hard to understand the point of humor because when it get translated some of the funny things can becomes unfunny…running man show us a lot of body gags which is a gag that doesnt need to get translated..thats why running man receive a lot of popularity since everyone understand the point of humor

    • Hi, xox. Thank you for giving your opinion about this topic. I actually agree with you about Running Man’s popularity. I think Running Man also got popular because it came up at the right time when people have started to recognize Korean TV shows. Let’s say if it had come up 5 years ago, maybe it would not be as popular as now.
      Anyway, it is still a great show. Hope it gets better and better as time goes by.

Leave a comment